Premium accounts
are only £9.99 - Upgrade now

Building a new PC

Viewing forum thread.
Back to Computer, Internet and Console chat.
Back to Forum List.

iamtheworst
iamtheworst
23:43 Thu 17 May 12 (BST)  [Link]  
Alright, so I'm looking to build a new PC as my laptop is on its last legs. Its about 6 years old, screen broken so that everything on the right side is blurry with a faulty battery that refuses to be fixed. So anyway, I want to build a PC capable of running video games on mid to high settings; screen, sound etc.

I've got a list of components in mind from browsing Google but I'm a complete novice with this.and I was wondering if anybody would tell me how they'd work together, whether they'd be good enough for what I'm wanting and to possibly recommend some alternatives.

Okay, so the list of products:
CiT Vantage Type-R Gaming Case with HD Audio, 4 Fans, Card Reader and No PSU.
AMD Bulldozer FX-6 Six Core 6100 Black Edition 3.40Ghz (Socket AM3+) Processor
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard (Socket AM3+, Up to 16GB DDR3, USB 3.0, uATX)
Simm DDR3 PC1600 8GB CL9 Corsair 1,5V
MSI R6770-MD1GD5 VIDEO CARD
SeagateBarracuda 7200.12 2TB 64MB Cache Hard Drive SATA 6 Gb/s 7200rpm - OEM

I also plan to purchase a 22" Full HD Monitor.

What am I missing? Would I be able to swap something out for something else? I think everything there, with the few websites I found, comes to about £400, including the Monitor. Like I said, I'm a complete novice and any advice would be appreciated.

EDIT: Pretty sure I'm missing a power supply and any disc drives...

Edited at 20:56 Thu 17/05/12 (BST)
jack_pot
jack_pot
00:31 Fri 18 May 12 (BST)  [Link]  
I'd get a better case if I were you. If you're from the UK buy from scan.co.uk or overclockers.

If it's for gaming, make sure you get some sort of cooling system for your CPU. I use a water cooler but if you don't want to spend much money then you should buy a heatsink cooler.